The Scripps Research Institute Logo

Faculty Honors & Awards

There are more than 270 faculty members at The Scripps Research Institute. Widely recognized in the international scientific arena, many are the recipients of prestigious honors and awards, including the following:

Nobel Laureates

As stipulated in Alfred Nobel's will, the Nobel Prize is bestowed on individuals who "have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind."

K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D., 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry "for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions"
Kurt Wüthrich, Ph.D., 2002 Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution”
Gerald M. Edelman, M.D., Ph.D. (1929 - 2014), 1972 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for "discoveries concerning the chemical structure of antibodies"
Bruce Beutler, M.D., 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for “discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity” (awarded when at TSRI)
Board of
Sydney Brenner, CH FRS, 2002 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for “discoveries concerning genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death” (also affiliated with the TSRI faculty)
Walter Gilbert, Ph.D., 1980 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for " contributions concerning the determination of base sequences in nucleic acids"
Paul Greengard, Ph.D., 2000 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for “discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system"

National Academy of Sciences Members

Members elected to the academy are recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research in science.

Phil S. Baran, Ph.D., 2017, chemistry
Floyd E. Bloom, M.D., 1977, cellular and molecular neuroscience
Dale L. Boger, Ph.D., 2014, chemistry
Francis V. Chisari, M.D., 2002, microbial biology
Benjamin F. Cravatt, Ph.D., 2014, chemical physiology
Gerald F. Joyce, M.D., Ph.D., 2001, biochemistry
Steve A. Kay, Ph.D., D.Sc., 2008, plant biology
Richard A. Lerner, M.D., 1991, chemistry
Michael B.A. Oldstone, M.D., 2008, microbial biology
Ardem Patapoutian, Ph.D., 2017, neuroscience
Julius Rebek, Jr., Ph.D., 1994, chemistry
Paul Schimmel, Ph.D., 1990, biochemistry
Peter G. Schultz, Ph.D., 1993, chemistry
K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D., 1985, chemistry
Peter K. Vogt, Ph.D., 1980, microbial biology
Charles Weissmann, M.D., Ph.D., 1989, cellular/molecular biology
Ian A. Wilson, D. Phil., D.Sc., FRS, FRSE, (foreign associate) 2016, structural and computational biology
Chi-Huey Wong, Ph.D., 2002, chemistry
Peter E. Wright, Ph.D., 2008, biophysics and computational biology
Kurt Wüthrich, Ph.D., 1992, chemistry

National Academy of Medicine Members

Members are elected for their excellence and professional achievement in a field relevant to the National Academy of Medicine’s mission and their willingness to participate actively in its work.

Floyd E. Bloom, M.D., 1982
Francis V. Chisari, M.D., 2003
Thomas S. Edgington, M.D., 1997
Gerald F. Joyce, M.D., Ph.D., 2014
Michael B.A. Oldstone, M.D., 1996
Paul Schimmel, Ph.D., 2005
Peter G. Schultz, Ph.D., 1998
Eric J. Topol, M.D., 2004
Peter K. Vogt, Ph.D., 2003

National Academy of Engineering Members

Peer-elected members represent the world’s most accomplished engineers.

Donna Blackmond, Ph.D.

Fellows of the Royal Society

Ian Wilson, D. Phil., D.Sc., FRS, FRSE
Kurt Wüthrich, Ph.D.

MacArthur Fellowships

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation awards fellowships, commonly known as “genius grants,” to individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.

Phil S. Baran, Ph.D.
Jin-Quan Yu, Ph.D.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Members

Providing advice to decision makers in government, academia and the private sector, members represent the full range of disciplines and professions, including mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs and the arts.

Phil S. Baran, Ph.D., 2015
Donna G. Blackmond, Ph.D., 2016
Floyd E. Bloom, M.D., 1978
Dale L. Boger, Ph.D., 2006
Benjamin F. Cravatt, Ph.D., 2016
Gerald F. Joyce, M.D., Ph.D., 2012
Jeffery W. Kelly, Ph.D., 2016
Richard A. Lerner, M.D., 2000
Julius Rebek, Jr., Ph.D., 1993
Paul Schimmel, Ph.D., 1987
Peter Schultz, Ph.D., 1990
K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D., 1984
Peter K. Vogt, Ph.D., 2005
Charles Weissmann, M.D., Ph.D., 2008
James R. Williamson, Ph.D., 2010
Ian W. Wilson, D. Phil., D.Sc., FRS, FRSE, 2002
Chi-Huey Wong, Ph.D., 1996
Peter E. Wright, Ph.D., 1995
Kurt Wüthrich, Ph.D., 1993

American Philosophical Society Members

Election to the society honors extraordinary accomplishments in all fields of intellectual endeavor.

Floyd E. Bloom, M.D.
Paul Schimmel, Ph.D.
Peter Vogt, Ph.D. 

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

Elected by their peers, AAAS Fellows are recognized for their meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

Phil S. Baran, Ph.D.
Floyd E. Bloom, M.D.
Dale L. Boger, Ph.D.
Francis V. Chisari, M.D.
Hollis Cline, Ph.D.
Benjamin F. Cravatt, Ph.D.
Ronald L. Davis, Ph.D.
Thomas S. Edgington, M.D.
M. Reza Ghadiri, Ph.D.
Kim D. Janda, Ph.D.
Steve A. Kay, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Thomas Kodadek, Ph.D.
George Koob, Ph.D.
Richard A. Lerner, M.D.
Donald E. Mosier, M.D., Ph.D.
Michael B. Oldstone, M.D.
Julius Rebek, Jr., Ph.D.
William Roush, Ph.D.
Erica Ollmann Saphire, Ph.D.
Paul Schimmel, Ph.D.
Peter G. Schultz, Ph.D.
K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D.
Ben Shen, Ph.D.
Eng M. Tan, M.D.
J. Lindsay Whitton, M.D., Ph.D.
Curt Wittenberg, Ph.D.
Chi-Huey Wong, Ph.D.
Peter E. Wright, Ph.D.
Kurt Wüthrich, Ph.D.
Jin-Quan Yu, Ph.D.

Wolf Prize in Chemistry

An international award granted in Israel, the Wolf Prize in Chemistry is presented annually to living scientists for “achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples...”

Richard A. Lerner, M.D., 1994/95
Peter G. Schultz, Ph.D., 1994/95
K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D., 2001
Chi-Huey Wong, Ph.D., 2014 

California Scientist of the Year Award Recipients

Richard A. Lerner, M.D.
Peter G. Schultz, Ph.D.
Peter K. Vogt, Ph.D.